Are You Compliant with CMMC? How to Tell

Meeting the requirements of DFARS 252.204-7012 and NIST 800-171 can be daunting, and many organizations are struggling to maintain compliance. The good news is that you take a major step toward compliance simply by understanding and implementing the Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) framework.

In this post, we’ll explore what CMMC is, how it can help your organization meet DFARS and NIST requirements, and what you need to do to get started.

What is CMMC?

The Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification is a framework developed by the Department of Defense (DoD) to improve cybersecurity across the defense industrial base. The CMMC framework consists of five levels of maturity, each with its own set of requirements.

What are the different levels of CMMC?

There are five levels of CMMC, each with its own set of requirements:

Level 1: Basic Cyber Hygiene

Level 2: Intermediate Cyber Hygiene

Level 3: Good Cyber Hygiene

Level 4: Proactive

Level 5: Advanced/Progressive

Which level is required for my organization?

Organizations must meet the requirements of Level 1 in order to do business with the DoD, and Levels 2-5 are required for certain contracts. For example, Level 3 is typically required for contracts involving the handling of Controlled Unclassified Information.

How could I tell if my organization is compliant with CMMC?

There are a few ways to tell if your organization is compliant with CMMC:

Self-assessment: You can use the CMMC Self-Assessment Guide to assess your organization’s compliance.

Audit: You can hire a CMMC-certified auditor to conduct an audit of your organization.

Certification: You can achieve CMMC certification through the DoD’s Certified Third Party Assessor Program.

If you’re not sure if your organization is compliant with CMMC, the best course of action is to hire a CMMC consultant to assess your compliance.

What are the benefits of CMMC?

There are many benefits to implementing CMMC, including:

Improved security: The CMMC framework helps organizations improve their cybersecurity posture by providing a clear and concise set of requirements.

Increased efficiency: By streamlining the compliance process, CMMC can help organizations save time and money.

Better business opportunities: Organizations that are compliant with CMMC will be better positioned to pursue contracts with the DoD.

What happens if my organization is not CMMC compliant?

If your organization is not CMMC compliant, you will not be able to do business with the DoD. In addition, your organization may be subject to fines and other penalties. Also, if your organization stores, processes, or transmits Controlled Unclassified Information, you may be required to disclose a data breach to the U.S. Government.

What do I need to do to get started with CMMC?

If you are interested in pursuing CMMC certification, the first step is to find a Certified Third Party Assessment Organization (C3PAO). The C3PAO will assess your organization against the CMMC requirements and provide a report with recommended next steps.

You should also begin working on your organization’s Cybersecurity Management Plan (CMP). The CMP is a Living Document that outlines your organization’s approach to cybersecurity. It should include your organization’s policies, procedures, and processes for managing risk and protecting sensitive information.

Now that you know more about CMMC, you can start working on your organization’s compliance. For more information, please visit the CMMC website.

Chris Turn

Chris Turn